Two Days

44-2016-12-31-12-56-09So you’ve had a two day respite from my random ramblings. Two days of peace and quiet. But now the spell is broken again and I’ve returned!

Interestingly, the reasons I’ve not posted for a couple of days have been absolutely at opposite ends of the scale. On Monday I had a really really bad day, utterly exhausted, no motivation for anything. Even the thought of turning on the computer to write anything was way beyond me, and most of the day was lost to a kind of depressive “I don’t want to be here” sort of haze. The evening was a little better, but by then I was too exhausted. Yesterday, however, I had one of the best days I’ve had in a while. I went out on my own, did a few errands, even managed to have a coffee, and then came home and, since my brain was still functioning reasonably well, started working on some of the admin tasks I now have piling up on my to do list.

My life is often very variable like this, and I have very varying capabilities on different days. I’ve still not really learnt about this in the light of autistic traits, though my brain is flashing at me that I did read something about it somewhere but I can’t exactly remember where and I need to add that to the list of things to investigate in the future. It’s very often the case that I can do something quite well on one day, but be completely incapable of doing the same thing the next day, and vice versa.

Obviously, days like Monday are utterly utterly miserable. I hate the days that are filled with sadness and regret, those days where I really don’t want to be alive any more. I hate feeling so weak and powerless, unable to function properly, stuck inside the flat when there is so much I want to do, unable even to perform simple tasks because my brain simply won’t work. I feel sad that I’m not getting up and going to a productive job (yes, really, I’d love to be able to do a job). I hate the fuzzy feeling in my head, the nausea when I forget to turn the main lights off, the way my heart rate skyrockets whenever someone in one of the adjoining flats or the car park below makes a noise.

These are the days I don’t want to live any more, the days I often have to work hard to stay alive. Although, on Monday, I was so low on energy that I figured never having existed at all would have been easier than actively having to die. I pondered owning a time machine and going back in time to force my mother to abort me, before realising that such an action would set up a temporal paradox that would have Emmett Brown “Great Scott!”ing all over the place. So I stayed in bed for much of the day, which I didn’t enjoy much either, then decamped, listlessly, to the sofa, where I watched an old drama on the TV because I didn’t even have the energy to put a DVD into the machine. I didn’t manage to eat until around five in the afternoon.

Someone on my facebook wall asked if there was any correlation between nutrition the day before and how I felt the day afterwards. There isn’t (except the day after I’ve had a very poor food day I often feel a bit “out of sorts” and that “out of sorts” often turns out to be hunger), but it got me thinking about what correlations there might be. And, once I started to look, there was a big huge one staring me in the face!

For years, I’ve had terrible Mondays. And they’ve been much worse since we moved to the flat. And now it seems obvious that the reason I’m so devoid of energy on a Monday is because of the weekend. At the weekend I’m more likely to go out, more likely to push myself to leave the house, more likely to see people – partly because we can park in town on a weekend and go and have coffee, partly because people are often around at the weekends, and orchestral gigs are often at the weekends, and partly because I am in the same room as my husband 24/7.

When we lived in the house this wasn’t the case – it was big enough for us to have separate rooms to go to, but the flat is not, so we are only metres away from each other all the time, unless one of us goes out. Even *that* level of communication, as opposed to being completely on my own for an average of 14 hours a day during the week, is enough to tire me significantly. And because it didn’t really occur to me, I’ve never made an allowance for it, like I do when I’ve been out to something more obviously social. But although I love being with him, I need solitude. I think he feels the same. We do work together, but we really need our space, especially at the moment with so much else to deal with.

I wondered, on Monday, as I sat there, trying to survive, still desperately miserable about the lack of formal diagnosis (when I started to think that people should be putting trigger warnings on posts about diagnosis I knew that I was really distressed about it), whether I’d reached the lowest point of this whole thing (or certainly a very low local minimum, comparable to that following the first assessment or the time back in the autumn when the hot water failed). I even tried to write about it. There wasn’t much there though, forming thoughts into words was very difficult, and the few lines below took all afternoon to transcribe from the mess in my head.

Rock Bottom?

Have I got there?
Any further to go?
Or is this geological nadir?

Still undiagnosed.
Still burnt out.
Still waiting.

Even written words hard today.
Really struggling.

When will diagnosis be?
When will burnout recovery be?
How long do I have to wait?

Life on hold.

Fortunately, things did start to improve. My husband arrived home in the evening with a part to fix our broken washing machine and while I sipped wine he set to work installing said part. I didn’t manage to test the machine until the next day, but am delighted to report that it now works again!

The next morning I felt a little better, so decided to try to do some of the things I really needed to do. I got up at a fairly reasonable time, even had a small amount of toast for breakfast, and then left the house, on my own! I went to the vet surgery to settle up our bill and collect some ashes. I went to the doctor’s surgery to collect my prescription and to register for online access to the prescription service – having almost lost my words and had them suddenly go into random order on the phone convinced me that it was worth registering to be able to do it online. I bought a sack of animal food from the local country store. And I went for coffee.

I haven’t had a drink in coffee on my own for months. I’ve sometimes managed to get a takeaway coffee to drink in the car, but the effort of communicating with baristas through the noise of the shop has been my absolute limit. If my husband’s been with me then he’s ordered and I’ve managed to sit in, but I haven’t managed to do both for quite a long time. But it was quiet, and as I stood at the counter in my sunglasses, bouncing up and down on my toes, I assessed that there was a quiet corner and I’d be able to manage.

So I had my coffee in. And because I was staying in I had my usual (regular latte and a piece of lemon cheesecake). And I managed. And ate my cheesecake. And drank my coffee. Which was excellent! Admittedly, I rocked back and forth in my seat the whole time, but it didn’t seem to present any problems to the world, so I just sat there quietly doing my own thing. Going out for coffee might seem everyday and trivial to many people, but for me, at the moment, it is a monumental achievement!

When I got home the good day continued, which is why you didn’t get a blog post. Unlike Monday, it wasn’t that I didn’t have the energy to make one, but that I had enough clear-headedness to do something more than writing blog posts. And while I had that sort of clarity in my head I wasn’t going to waste it – so I set up a calendar for 2017, and a list of dates on which I’ve been asked to do things, and a list of people to contact about those things. I sent a few e-mails, just the first ones, mainly the simple things that were either wanting information that was easy to access, or that were gigs I definitely can’t do because I know they’ll be too much. I still have more people to contact, but the ball is rolling. Life became just that little bit more sorted. A little bit better. I am getting there.

And as for today, I’d say it’s been middling, which I’m quite pleased with, given how much I got done yesterday. In my more optimistic moments I allow myself to believe that Monday really was rock bottom and things might improve from now on, though I know that this isn’t a strictly linear process, and there will likely be many more ups and downs before things finally settle into something a bit more equilibrious.

We can only wait and see what happens tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

