Cataclysm

77-2017-02-25-21-38-12It is now just over a week since I received my autism diagnosis. I had been hoping to “celebrate” that mini-anniversary today, but, as happens, life throws things in the way when you’re least expecting them, so I am having to devote a lot of brain space to dealing with something else currently. The week that has passed since my diagnosis is therefore, today, being “quietly noted” and little more.

If I am quiet here for a few days, then please forgive me. I might need a few days. My organization of my blog posts is also a bit lacking, and I need to do a bit of catching up with filing and sorting (when you find yourself using the search feature on your own blog to try to find out whether you’ve already posted that bit of writing you know you need to do a bit of sorting). Now that I have my diagnosis I’d like to make some sort of reference guide here (better than the Blog Guide) so people can follow the diagnostic procedure. I’m aware that new people have now started reading this blog and following it and might feel like they’re arriving part way through something. I’d really like to categorise and get the tags and so on a bit more useful, particularly for other autistic people and those who are keen to learn. I’ll try, but for now I need a little space. I’d also really like to write up last week’s assessment, but have not yet been able to find enough words and my head is still processing everything.

There is much to be done. I am trying to do what I can as well as I can as fast as I can, but my capabilities are currently not very good, so it might be slow progress. But I am very grateful for so much feedback and so on here, and for the people who have liked the facebook page and people I don’t even know who have said how much what I write resonates with them.

I wrote the words below a few days ago, with the title above. That title describes the state of my head right now, for several reasons. Things change. Autistic brains need lots of time to process change. In the meantime, they don’t necessarily work very well. I am doing my best. Please don’t ask any further – I’m not currently able to answer questions, and my capacity to produce words, even typed ones, has reduced again recently. I need a few days on the sofa, curled up under a blanket, rocking gently, staring at junk telly. My husband is, as usual, being magnificent, and caring for me brilliantly.

It still feels like a dream.
Like I will wake up at some point
And I will be in a tent in a field.

It will be summer 2016,
The point at which something was spotted
And mentioned, by several people.

After 45 years of a life that didn’t fit,
Full of difficulties and mental illness,
The truth started to reveal itself.

The more I learnt,
The more I discovered
That my “normal” was “different”.

I started to investigate my past
And found out
Just how many things tallied.

I started to adapt to my changed reality,
But needed a firm answer,
A piece of paper.

So I asked, and I filled in forms,
And I wrote down information.
120 pages of it!

I waited, and I endured an appointment
That nearly finished me.
And did not help.

But now I have the formal answer.
I know why my life has gone
So badly wrong so many times.

The process of discovery is over
And the rebuilding of my shattered life
Can now begin.

It feels surreal, like a dream.
It’s good. I know it’s good.
The relief at all now making sense.

But it will take time for everything
To feel “normal” again and for my head
To recover from the cataclysm.

Leave a Reply

