Sensory Reaction

78-2016-12-29-22-16-01An event
Occurred.

I knew
In my brain
That I should react.

But how?

In the past
I would use
Knowledge
To do what
Was expected.

But that was the mask.

So I searched
For real emotion
And found
Blankness.

A few odd tears
Annoyingly blocked nose.

But…

My husband
Speaking normally
Sound levels rocketing.
Quieter quieter quieter,
Please.

Turned the TV down and down
Until it was silent.
Subtitles only.
The sounds of
Electronics
Screaming in my ears.

And the light
Becoming brighter and brighter
A million watts of bulb
Was how it seemed.

Light off.
Lamp off.
The pain of the light from the TV
Until that too extinguished.

I hid my face
Behind a blanket
To shield from the
Reflected light
Of my husband’s laptop.

I had a bath
In almost darkness
With a tiny camping lamp.

Then went to bed.

My head
Totally
Overloaded.

My reaction:
Extreme
Sensory
Sensitivity.

1 thought on “Sensory Reaction”

Leave a Reply

