Out Walking

It is bright
Even through my darkest sunglasses.
Blossom scattered on the ground.
Curtains in windows uneven.
The chipped edges of the paving.
And leaves, each one defined.

It is loud
Even in the quiet part of the day.
Birds screaming a constant barrage of noise.
My handbag strap squeaking.
Construction site out of view but loud.
Car engines approach from either side.

It is strong
Even though I’m used to smells and feels.
Something flowering, overpowering scent.
Tobacco smoke from someone unseen.
Trouser seams rubbing on my legs.
The wind, assaulting my skin all over.

It is scary
Even though I am not in danger.
My heart pounds, but not from exercise.
A man with a dog, I’m instantly nervous.
I focus on walking, moving forward.
Until I reach the safety of home again.

2 thoughts on “Out Walking”

  1. Your blog is currently included on our Actually Autistic Blogs List (anautismobserver.wordpress.com). Please personalize your blog’s description by selecting “About the list/How do you want your blog listed?” from the top menu on that site.
    Thank you.
    Judy (An Autism Observer)

    Like

Leave a Reply

