Still Very New

A year ago
Things had started
To go wrong.
Depression maybe?
Anxiety
Growing fast.
Things had not been right
For several months.
I didn’t know why.
Autism was not
Even considered.
I was just
An anxious eccentric.

Ten months ago
People started
To suggest that I might
Be autistic.
Which, I have to admit,
Was a bit on the weird side
Because as far as I knew
I was just me.

Nine months ago
After a bit of research
And discovery
And, well, if I’m honest,
Having my mind blown somewhat
By the whole concept
And
In the face of so much evidence
That to deny it
Would be a supreme act
Of illogicality
I accepted
And I wrote
“I am autistic”
For the first time.
And started to believe
That maybe
All my failures
Were not my fault
And I wasn’t lazy
After all.

Seven months ago
The first assessment.
Disaster, meltdown, damage.
Invalidation.
Despair
And serious thoughts
About whether I could even
Go on living.
My whole identity
Fallen to pieces
My whole life
A pointless waste.
Feeling guilty
Simply for
Breathing the air.

Six months ago
I had started to blog
And to engage
With other people.
Figuring that even
If everyone thought
I was a total idiot
Then maybe, just maybe,
That was better
Than being dead.
My logic being
That being a friendless idiot
Has potential for reversal
Whereas being dead
Does not.

Five months ago
A second referral,
Elsewhere.
We had to work for it
Quite hard,
Never giving up.

Four months ago
DIAGNOSIS!
Officially autistic.
Life changed
For ever.
Even though
It was already known.
I needed
Confirmation
Validation.
Big relief.
Mysteries solved.
A new confidence.
New hope.

Two months ago
Life gradually improving.
Slowly.
The first signs
That maybe
Burnout
Wouldn’t be for ever.
Acceptance
Learning
Gently starting
To rebuild
My shattered life.

And now
I continue to oscillate.
Part of me wants
To be an expert
An advocate,
And to learn
And educate
And debate the issues
And to be a confident
Articulate
(Most of the time)
Authentic
Autistic.
It’s not very difficult for me
To behave in ways
That are obviously autistic
All I have to do
Is stop trying not to!
But
Part of me still believes
That I don’t have the knowledge
Or abilities
For all of this
And that I’m out of my depth.
Because
I’m just a small person
Trying to figure all this out
And sometimes
I wish life
Would just
Get back to normal.
Though, to be honest,
I’m really not sure what “normal”
Even means any more.
Why is this all happening
To me?
I do not have
All the answers.
I just want to hide.
It all feels so uncertain.
I feel insecure.
Not confident.
Is the confident autistic
Yet another act?
My identity continues
To wobble
On its axis.
Trying to sort what is
Genuinely me
While maintaining
A person
Who can survive
In society.

Balance.

Difficult.

So I look back.
Two months
Four months
Five months
Six months
Seven months
Nine months
Ten months
A year

And I remind myself
That autistic brains like mine
Need time to cope
With change.

I have years of lived experience
I learn fast.
Yes.
But I also struggle.
And I need time
And space.

Looking back
At just how much has happened
In less than a year
Is a good reminder.
That I don’t have to have
All the answers
Yet
Because, for me,
All this
Is
Still
Very
New.

1 thought on “Still Very New”

Leave a Reply

